Beautiful Addiction

They say I was dancing when I came out of my mother’s womb.

That the melody of life moved me.

That it opened my eyes and started my heart.

 

When other kids were learning a, e i, o, u, I was learning do, re, mi, fa, so, la, ti, do.

It is part of my DNA, ingrained in the tissues of my brain.

It is my second language, instead of Spanish. German, or French I speak the language of music.

A language that can have a myriad of words, or none at all.

 

Music is that drug that I have an endless supply of,

my stash never going empty,

my hunger for it never going unquenched.

I crave it every single day,

I itch for that high it gives me, lifting me up into the infinite light.

 

Every hour, every minute, every second, my hands are yearning to press play.

Every sound I hear turns into a beat, every word a song lyric.

The thing is, there is so much variety, you think you’ve heard it all, but then you realize

the true depth of what you are hearing.

So many beats and rhythms, some ritardando, some accelerando, some high, some low.

 

When I am sad, it comforts me. It is that friend you can confide in, that crutch that builds you up.

It helps me go through the day with an open mind and an open heart. It fuels my will to keep on going.

When I am filled with joy, it joins in my laughter. It fills me when I am empty.

All I do, I do it for the music in me.

 

I will never let go of this madness that holds me. This madness that loses my grip on reality.

Together, me and the music, we will embark on this journey.

 

The journey that explores the bond between who I am and who music makes me become.

Spread your Beautiful Words

